Home > Uncategorized > Don’t Break The Artists: One Hundred Twenty Five Artists Sign Letter Opposing IRFA

Don’t Break The Artists: One Hundred Twenty Five Artists Sign Letter Opposing IRFA

November 14, 2012

125 artists signed this letter that was posted today.  If the letter had addressed direct licensing instead of Pandora’s rates, every artist could have been sued by Clear Channel for violations of the Sherman Act under the so-called “Internet Radio Fairness Act.”

PS If you want to voice your opinion on IRFA, Senator Ron Wyden has a comment page on his Senate website click here and MusicFirst Coalition has a letter to Congress you can sign click here.  Please consider taking action as we are all in this together.

A Musicians Perspective on Pandora

We are big fans of Pandora. That’s why we helped give the company a discount on rates for the past decade.

Pandora is now enjoying phenomenal success as a Wall Street company. Skyrocketing growth in revenues and users.We celebrate that. At the same time, the music community is just now beginning to gain its footing in this new digital world.

Pandora’s principal asset is music.

Why is the company asking Congress once again to step in and gut the royalties that thousands of musicians rely upon? That’s not fair and that’s not how partners work together.

Congress has many pressing issues to consider, but this is not one of them. Let’s work this out as partners and continue to bring fans the great musical experience they rightly expect.

Bryan Adams


Greg Allman

Steve Angello

Rodney Atkins

Sara Bareilles

Big Bad Voodoo Daddy

Clint Black

Jack Blades


Jonatha Brooke

Jackson Browne

Jimmy Buffett

Oteil Burbridge

The Cab

Colbie Caillat

Camper Van Beethoven

CoCo Carmel

George Clinton

Keyshia Cole


Easton Corbin

Cowboy Mouth


Randy Crawford

Robert Cray

David Crosby

Joel Crouse

Sheryl Crow

Drew Davis

Taylor Dayne

Dead Kennedys

Raheem DeVaughn

The Doors


The Dream

Vikter Duplaix

Missy Elliott

Lupe Fiasco

The 5th Dimension


John Fogerty

Guy Forsyth

The Game

Vince Gill

David Gilmour

Genevieve Goings

Andy Grammer

Amy Grant

CeeLo Green


Warren Haynes

Don Henley

Hootie and The Blowfish

Mallary Hope

Bruce Hornsby

Mick Hucknall

(Simply Red)

The J. Geils Band


The Jazz Crusaders

Billy Joel

John Paul Jones

Mick Jones (Foreigner)


Jim Kerr and Charlie Burchill

(Simple Minds)


Jana Kramer


Maroon 5

Nick Mason

Duff McKagan


Janelle Monae

Alissa Moreno

Jason Mraz


Graham Nash


Stevie Nicks

Night Ranger

Ted Nugent

Owl City

Christina Perri

Katy Perry

Pink Floyd

Robert Plant

John Pointer

The Pointer Sisters


Marc Quinones

Joel Rafael

Bonnie Raitt

Martha Reeves


Eric Roberson

Darius Rucker


Bobby Rush

Joe Sample

David Sanborn

Skid Row

Michael W. Smith

Britney Spears

Dave Stewart



Susan Tedeschi

Robin Thicke

George Thorogood


Butch Trucks

Derek Trucks

Josh Turner

Frankie Valli and Bob Gaudio

(The 4 Seasons)

Dionne Warwick

Roger Waters

Bobby Whitlock


Chuck Wicks

Otis Williams

(The Temptations)

Ann and Nancy Wilson


Brian Wilson

BeBe Winans

Trisha Yearwood

Zac Brown Band

  1. November 14, 2012 at 11:26

    Chris, thank you for reporting on this onerous legislation and creating an opportunity for your readers to speak out. I’ve responded on both accounts and will distribute your post to my social network community.

    Thanks again for your continued hard work, commitment and integrity.

    Will Buckley, founder, FarePlay

  2. anita rivas
    November 15, 2012 at 02:58

    Excellent work. So glad to see artists taking a stand! Thanks for organizing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
%d bloggers like this: