New Music Weekend: CMJ Picks Alvarez Kings, Blackbird Blackbird, TH White, Blondfire, DIIV, Sea Wolf, Citizens!, The Antlers, Holy Other

Staff picks for CMJ bands in NYC from the ultimate arbiter of taste! 1.  Alvarez Kings (Sheffield) @alvarezkings October 18, Lit Lounge CMJ Showcase 2.  Blackbird Blackbird (San Francisco) @blckbrdblckbrd October 17, Pianos 3.  T.H. White  (New York) @thwhitemusic October 17, The Bowery Electric 4.  Blondfire (Los Angeles) @blondfire October 17, Union Hall 5.  GZA Irving Plaza […]

New Music Weekend: Kristy Lee Cook, All Time Low, Chvrches, The 1975, Flying Lotus

This week’s staff picks selected by the ultimate arbiter of taste! 1.  Kristy Lee Cook (Nashville) “Airborne Ranger Infantry” @kristyleecook 2.  All Time Low (Baltimore) “Don’t Panic” @alltimelow 3.  CHVRCHES (Glasgow) “The Mother We Share” @chvrches 4.  The 1975 (Manchester) “Chocolate” @the1975 5.  Flying Lotus (Los Angeles) “Putty Boy Strut” @flyinglotus

New Music Weekend: Shooter Jennings, Allison Weiss, First Aid Kit, Benjamin Francis Leftwich, Jacques Lu Cont

Staff picks from Semaphore Music 1.  Shooter Jennings (Nashville) “The Deed and the Dollars” @shooterjennings 2.  Allison Weiss (Brooklyn) “I Was an Island” @allisonweiss 3.  First Aid Kit (Stockholm) “I Met Up With the King” @firstaidkitband 4.  Benjamin Francis Leftwich (York) “Atlas Hands” @benleftwich 5.  Jacques Lu Cont (Reading) “Tracques” @jacqueslucont

New Music Weekend: Our top 23 for 2011: New Music Weekend: Our Top 23 for 2011: Emily Zuzik, Phantogram, I Break Horses, Slowtrain, Kurt Vile & the Violators, Laze & Royal, Alex Clare, Pure X, Harvey Smith Salute, Le Corps Mince de Francoise, Kate Todd, Phantom, Kids in Glass Houses, Sarah Jarosz, Memory Tapes, Niki and the Dove, Brasstronaut, These Kids Wear Crowns, Julianna Barwick, Mother Falcon, My Name is John Michael, Esben and the Witch, Family of the Year

Top 23 for 2011 from Semaphore Music.  Why top 23?  10 is too restrictive, and when asked to list top 20, no one did, so top 23.  Supposedly across all genres but clearly isn’t. Emily Zuzik (Brooklyn) “You Want to Go Out Tonight” @emilyzuzik Phantogram (Saratoga Springs) “Running from the Cops” @phantogram I Break Horses (Stockholm) “Load […]

New Music Weekend: Guy Forsyth, Ren Harvieu, Widowspeak, Gardening Not Architecture, You and Me at Six

Staff picks from Semaphore Music 1.  Guy Forsyth (Austin) New Album coming in the New Year (and one of the best artist websites!) @guy_forsyth 2.  Ren Harvieu (Manchester) “Through the Night” @renharvieu 3.  Widowspeak (Brooklyn) “Gun Shy” @widowspeaking 4.  Gardening Not Architecture (Seattle) “Saboteur” @gnatweets 5.  You and Me At Six (Weybridge) “Loverboy” @youmeatsix