New Music Weekend: CMJ Picks Alvarez Kings, Blackbird Blackbird, TH White, Blondfire, DIIV, Sea Wolf, Citizens!, The Antlers, Holy Other

Staff picks for CMJ bands in NYC from the ultimate arbiter of taste! 1.  Alvarez Kings (Sheffield) @alvarezkings October 18, Lit Lounge CMJ Showcase 2.  Blackbird Blackbird (San Francisco) @blckbrdblckbrd October 17, Pianos 3.  T.H. White  (New York) @thwhitemusic October 17, The Bowery Electric 4.  Blondfire (Los Angeles) @blondfire October 17, Union Hall 5.  GZA Irving Plaza […]

New Music Weekend: Kristy Lee Cook, All Time Low, Chvrches, The 1975, Flying Lotus

This week’s staff picks selected by the ultimate arbiter of taste! 1.  Kristy Lee Cook (Nashville) “Airborne Ranger Infantry” @kristyleecook 2.  All Time Low (Baltimore) “Don’t Panic” @alltimelow 3.  CHVRCHES (Glasgow) “The Mother We Share” @chvrches 4.  The 1975 (Manchester) “Chocolate” @the1975 5.  Flying Lotus (Los Angeles) “Putty Boy Strut” @flyinglotus

#NewMusic Mondays Dawn Langstroth, Knife Party, John Pointer, Miss May I, Low Flying Owls

Semaphore Music staff picks from @semaphoremusik curated by the ultimate arbiter of taste 1.  Dawn Langstroth (Toronto) “Dark and Twisted (No Mercy)” @dawnlangstroth 2.  Knife Party (Oz) “Bonfire” @knifepartyinc 3.  John Pointer (Austin)  “The Flame” @johnpointer 4.  Miss May I (Ohio) “Second to No One” @missmayiband 5.  Low Flying Owls (Los Angeles) “Lovevolve” @lowflyingowls

#NewMusic Weekend: Nina Nesbitt, Jensen Reed, Rizzle Kicks, Knife Party, Master and Dog

Semaphore Music Staff Picks (Spotify playlist: 6-3-12 Semaphore Music Top 5) 1. Nina Nesbitt (Edinburgh) “Glue (Live”) @ninanesbitt 2. Jensen Reed (Los Angeles) “After the War” @jensenreed 3.  Rizzle Kicks (Brighton) “Down with the Trumpets” @rizzlekicks 4.  Knife Party  (Oz) “Antidote” [Rage Valley on Beatport] @knifepartyinc 5.  Master and Dog (Belfast) “Canada” @jsatcreatures

#NewMusic Weekend: Guy Forsyth, The Maccabees, Deaf Havana, Future of the Left, Lacrymosa

The top five staff picks this week from Sempahore Music 1.  Guy Forsyth (Austin) “If I Was Sick” @guy_forsyth 2.  The Maccabees (London) “Went Away” @themaccabees 3.  Deaf Havana (Norfolk) “We Used to Talk” @deafhavana 4.  Future of the Left (Cardiff) “Sheena Is a T-shirt Salesman” @futureoftheleft 5.  Lacrymosa (New York) “Not About Want” @iamlacrymosa 5-19-12 Semaphore […]

#NewMusic Weekend: Slow Down, Molasses, Boy Friend, Me and My Drummer, Not Squares, Family of the Year

Top 5 this week from Sempahore Music staffers (subject always to the Ultimate Arbiter of Taste): Spotify playlist: Semaphore #NewMusic 5-14-12 1.  Slow Down, Molassas (Saskatoon) “Light” @slowdownmolasse 2.  Boy Friend (Austin) “Egyptian Wrinkle” @boyfriendmusiq 3.  Me and My Drummer (Berlin) “Heavy Weight” 4.  Not Squares (Belfast) “Fall Far” @notsquares 5.  Family of the Year […]

#NewMusic Weekend: The Nameless Girl, Andrew Bird, Miles Kane, Martin Solveig & Madeon, miaouxmiaoux

Top 5 picks by staff at Semaphore Music @semaphoremusik 1.  The Nameless Girl (Devon) “Bipolar” @tngirlmusic 2.  Andrew Bird (Chicago) “Despiration Breeds” @andrewbird 3.  Miles Kane (Meols on the Wirral) “First of My Kind” @mileskanemusic 4.  Martin Solveig & Madeon (Nantes) “The Night Out (Madeon Remix)” @madeon 5.  Miaoux Miaoux [Julian Corrie] (Glasgow) “Discopolis” @miaouxmiaoux

#NewMusic Weekend: Los Van Van, Terry Malts, Bobby Tank, Tom Williams and the Boat, Alkaline Trio

Top 5 staff picks of the week from Semaphore Music 1.  Los Van Van (Habana) “Aqua” @losvanvan 2.  Terry Malts (Redwood City) “Distracted” @terrymaltshuh 3.  Bobby Tank (London) “Afterburn” @bobbytank 4.  Tom Williams and The Boat (London) “Teenage Blood” @tomwilliamsboat 5.  Alkaline Trio (McHenry) “The American Scream” @alkaline_trio

#NewMusic Weekend: Wheeler Brothers, The Only, Alabama Shakes, Oliver Tank, Clean Bandit

Staff picks from Semaphore Music–the top 5 we’re listening to this week at MTP! 1.  Wheeler Brothers (Austin) “Spent Time” @wheelerbrothers 2.  The Only (Oz) “Drag Me Down” “The Only are performers NOT DJs” right on 3.  Alabama Shakes (Athens, AL) “Heavy Chevy” @alabama_shakes 4.  Oliver Tank (Sydney) “Last Night I Heard Everything in Slow Motion” @olivertank 5.  Clean […]