Archive

Posts Tagged ‘Alex Clare’

New Music Weekend: Our top 23 for 2011: New Music Weekend: Our Top 23 for 2011: Emily Zuzik, Phantogram, I Break Horses, Slowtrain, Kurt Vile & the Violators, Laze & Royal, Alex Clare, Pure X, Harvey Smith Salute, Le Corps Mince de Francoise, Kate Todd, Phantom, Kids in Glass Houses, Sarah Jarosz, Memory Tapes, Niki and the Dove, Brasstronaut, These Kids Wear Crowns, Julianna Barwick, Mother Falcon, My Name is John Michael, Esben and the Witch, Family of the Year

December 29, 2011 Comments off

Top 23 for 2011 from Semaphore Music.  Why top 23?  10 is too restrictive, and when asked to list top 20, no one did, so top 23.  Supposedly across all genres but clearly isn’t.

Emily Zuzik (Brooklyn) “You Want to Go Out Tonight” @emilyzuzik

Phantogram (Saratoga Springs) “Running from the Cops” @phantogram

I Break Horses (Stockholm) “Load Your Eyes”

Slowtrain (Austin) “Not the Only One”

Kurt Vile & The Violators (Philadelphia) “Baby’s Arms”

Laze & Royal (LA) “Thrashed” @lazeandroyal

Alex Clare (London) “Treading Water” @alexanderclare

Pure X (Austin) “Heavy Air” @pure_x

Harvey Smith Salute (London) @theclientele (Music coming but there’s a compilation video that looks rad)

Le Corps Mince de Françoise (Helsinki) “Cool and Bored” @lcmdf

Kate Todd (Toronto) “Drive” @katetodd

Phantom (Montreal) “We Float” @thisisphantom

Kids in Glass Houses (Cardiff) “Matters at All”

Sarah Jarosz (Austin) “Annabelle Lee” @sarahjarosz

Memory Tapes (NJ) “Yes I Know” @memorytapes (cool video)

Niki and the Dove (Stockholm) “Under the Bridges” @nikiandthedove

Brasstronaut (Vancouver) “Slow Knots” @brasstronaut

These Kids Wear Crowns (Chilliwack BC) “Break it Up” @tkwc

Julianna Barwick (Brooklyn) “Flown” (@juliannabarwick)

Mother Falcon (Austin) (@motherfalconmus)

My Name is John Michael (NOLA) @mynameisjm

Esben and the Witch (Brighton)

Family of the Year @familyoftheyear (LA)

New Music Weekend: Lower Dens, Two Door Cinema Club, Emeli Sande, Laze & Royal, Alex Clare

July 17, 2011 Comments off

Staff picks:

Lower Dens (Baltimore) “Tea Lights” @lowerdens

Two Door Cinema Club (Bangor) “What You Know” @TDCinemaClub

Emeli Sande (Glasgow) “Maybe” @emelisande

Laze & Royal (LA) “Thrashed” @lazeandroyal

Alex Clare (London) “Treading Water” @alexanderclare

%d bloggers like this: